This project is read-only.

How to use Krypton engine

Feb 17, 2012 at 2:20 PM

Are there any tutorials on how to implement the Krypton engine?

I am quite new to using game engines. So far I have build almost everything that is in my game myself. However I found creating a lighting engine too complicated and went to research. From what I've seen Krypton does a good job :D. 

Thank you,

Feb 17, 2012 at 3:35 PM

Okay I got it, you just not have to look at it as if it's fucking complicated :D It looks nice :D

Feb 17, 2012 at 10:59 PM
Edited Feb 17, 2012 at 11:01 PM

I can't get my light to stick to a location on a 2D tile-based map. It sticks to a location on the screen and stays there wherever I scroll to.

Draw Method:

protected override void Draw(GameTime gameTime)
        {
            // Matrix worldMatrix = Matrix.Identity;
            Matrix view = camera.ViewMatrix;

// Assign the matrix and pre-render the lightmap.
            // Make sure not to change the position of any lights or shadow hulls after this call, as it won't take effect till the next frame!
            this.krypton.Matrix = view;
            this.krypton.Bluriness = 3;

krypton.SpriteBatchCompatablityEnabled = true;
            krypton.CullMode = CullMode.CullClockwiseFace;

this.krypton.LightMapPrepare();

camera.ViewMatrix:

public
 Matrix ViewMatrix
        {
            get { return _viewMatrix; }
        }

private void UpdateViewTransform()
        {
             Matrix proj = Matrix.CreateTranslation(new Vector3(_viewport.Width * 0.5f, _viewport.Height * 0.5f, 0)) * 
                           Matrix.CreateScale(new Vector3(1f, 1f, 1f));

_viewMatrix = Matrix.CreateRotationZ(_rotation) *
                          Matrix.CreateScale(new
 Vector3(_zoom, _zoom, 1.0f)) *
                          Matrix.CreateTranslation(_position.X, _position.Y, 0.0f);

_viewMatrix = proj * _viewMatrix;
        }
// This is how I draw a sprite: